Xiamen Philharmonic to stage 'Glorious Classics' Concert on Fri.

Updated: 2012-11-20
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
Prestigious conductor Professor Zheng Xiaoying (center) is China's first female conductor.
The symphony concert “Glorious Classics” sponsored by Xiamen Road & Bridge Group Co. Ltd will be performed on November 23rd at No. 67 Wenyuan Road Music Island•Philharmonic Hall.
The concert will be conducted by prestigious conductor Professor Zheng Xiaoying. Yuan Fang, the winner of international piano competitions and the Associate Professor of Central Conservatory of Music, will also perform in the concert. It will bring the audience a series of marvelous classical masterpieces in the history of European music.
Yuan Fang is the winner of international piano competitions and the Associate Professor of Central Conservatory of Music.

The concert will start with Tchaikovsky’s Overture to “1812”. It was composed in the occasion of the 70th anniversary of Russia’s triumph against Napoleon. Tchaikovsky took a wide range of instruments to vividly depict the war scenes, expressing the glory and pride on celebrating the triumph of war against invasion.

Overture to “1812” will be followed by young pianist Yuan Fang’s excellent performance of an important masterpiece of Beethoven’s mature period: Piano Concerto No.4 in G Major, Op. 58. It is the most lyric concerto of Beethoven. The close and detailed cooperation between the orchestra and the pianist represents wonderful contrast. Yuan Fang has participated in solo, concerto and chamber concerts both at home and abroad for many times. She has cooperated with many well-known symphony orchestras and won prizes in international piano competitions. In 2004, she won the highest prize on Munich International Young Pianist Stage and was invited to join the Munich Pianist Club. She was regarded as the most welcomed pianist. The leading authority Paul Badura-Skoda honored her as a young pianist “who is able to express the soul of composer”. Authority media in Germany described her as “a Chinese pianist with great infectant power”.

The concert will bring you Debussy’s Petite Suite in the second half. This fine and lovely romantic masterpiece represents a different style of the Impressionistic composer Debussy.

The concert will end with Symphonic Poem “Don Juan” Op. 20 composed by the productive German composer Richard Strauss in the late Romantic Period. It was his first symphonic poem which received great success. The beginning of this masterpiece is very attractive, creative as well as difficult of play. Strauss once described: “The most important thing is to capture audience’s attention from the very beginning. If so, you can do whatever you want in the following part.” Let us appreciate this legendary masterpiece together.
Conductor: Zheng Xiaoying
Soloist: Yuan Fang
Orchestra: Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra
P. I. Tchaikovsky: Overture to “1812”
L. V. Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.4 in G Major, Op. 58
C. Debussy: Petite Suite
R. Strauss: Symphonic Poem “Don Juan” Op. 20
Time: 19:30, Friday, November 23rd 2012
Venue: No. 67 Wenyuan Road, Music Island•Philharmonic Hall
Tickets: RMB90/150/200 (50% discount for children and students)
Contact Phone:  0592-2072131/ 2070648/ 2072130
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
Comments Area ( Total Comments: 0 )