Trade & Investment

Preferential policies announced at 5th Straits Forum in Xiamen

Updated: 2013-06-17
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
The Chinese mainland yesterday boosted cross-Strait exchanges by introducing a slew of preferential policies on mainland-Taiwan administration in the fields of legal rights, education, culture and tourism.

The Supreme People's Court will provide legal interpretation recognizing and implementing the paper of civil mediation followed by Taiwan authorities at village, township and city levels, announced Zhang Zhijun, director of the Taiwan Affairs Office of the State Council, at the ongoing fifth Straits Forum in southeast China's Xiamen City.

To offer more convenience for Taiwanese visitors, an additional 11 provincial entry-exit administrative departments on the mainland will accept applications from Taiwanese compatriots who reside on the mainland for renewal of their entry permits, Zhang added.

Nine such departments already offered the service.

Professional support

The mainland will also open 10 more categories of professional qualification examinations to Taiwan residents, support Taiwanese graduates from mainland colleges to start their own businesses, and provide subsidies for entrepreneurship training to students from Taiwan.

According to Zhang, 10 cultural exchange bases will be set up on the mainland in Henan and Fujian provinces and Beijing. He said another 11 historical sites will also play the role of cross-Strait communication bases, including the Confucius Temple in east China's Shandong Province, and some revolutionary relic sites in the northern Hubei Province and southwestern Chongqing City.

The official, who did not specify when any of these new policies would take effect, added that a cross-Strait copyright trade center as well as a digital publication base working across the Strait will be established in Fujian.

Tourism backed

In order to boost cross-Strait tourism, residents of 13 more mainland cities will be eligible to visit Taiwan as individual tourists under a new cross-Strait agreement, according to Shao Qiwei, head of the National Tourism Administration.

The 13 cities include Shenyang, Zhengzhou, Wuhan, Suzhou, Ningbo, Qingdao, Shijiazhuang, Changchun, Hefei, Changsha, Nanning, Kunming and Quanzhou.

Taiwan has previously opened individual tourism to residents of 13 mainland cities, including Beijing, Shanghai, Xiamen, Tianjin, Nanjing, Chongqing, Hangzhou, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Jinan, Shenzhen, Fuzhou and Xi'an.

Of the latest group of cities, Shenyang, Zhengzhou, Wuhan, Suzhou, Ningbo and Qingdao will launch the program on June 28, while the other seven cities will wait until August 28.

The fifth Straits Forum opened yesterday and is scheduled to wrap up on June 21 in Xiamen, a port city of Fujian Province at the western side of Taiwan Strait. 
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
Comments Area ( Total Comments: 0 )