Xiamen declared one of 12 international transportation hubs in China

Updated: 07 Mar 2017
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share wox mobile
According to the "Development Plan for Xiamen's Comprehensive Transportation System" in the 13th Five-Year Plan (2016 to 2020), Xiamen has been declared an international transportation hub for the first time by the State Council.

China will focus on the construction of 12 planned international transportation hubs during the 13th Five-Year Plan, namely Beijing-Taijin, Shanghai, Guangzhou-Shenzhen, Chengdu-Chongqing, Kunming, Urumchi, Harbin, Xi’an, Zhengzhou, Wuhan, Dalian, and Xiamen.

The Plan also stated that specific focus would be placed on the construction of a Xiamen-Chongqing high-speed railway, a new Xiamen airport, and the Southeast International Shipping Center (also known as Xiamen Center in Haicang District).
Xiamen North Railway Station

Xiamen-Chongqing high-speed railway

Rail transit between Xiamen and Chongqing is expected to be shortened to around 10 hours via bullet train.
Xiamen Xiang’an International Airport

Xiamen Xiang’an International Airport

Construction of the new airport will be basically completed in 2020. The new facility is designed to achieve annual passenger throughput of 45 million.

Currently, Xiamen has direct flights to Singapore, Manila, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, Jakarta, Siem Reap, Seoul, Jeju Island, Tokyo, Amsterdam, Hanoi, Nice, Sydney, Melbourne, Vancouver, and Seattle.

Xiamen Airlines will launch a direct flight from Xiamen to Los Angeles in June this year, according to Che Shanglun, chairman of the airline.
Southeast International Shipping Center

Southeast International Shipping Center
(Also known as Xiamen Center)

Four office buildings in the center will be put into use by June this year.

The city will invest about RMB 250 billion in transportation development during the 13th Five-year Plan, RMB 141.8 billion more than that for the 12th Five-year Plan (2010 to 2015).

Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
Comments Area ( Total Comments: 0 )